Just In: Sen. Barau Jibrin Maliya was elected as Deputy Senate President

Barau Jibrin Maliya
Sen. Maliya

Distinguished senator representing Kano-North, Barau Jibrin Maliya was elected Deputy Senate President of the 10th National Assembly on Tuesday. 

Senator Dave Umahi nominated Senator Barau for Deputy Senate President and gave his citation, according to KANO FOCUS, after which the nominee accepted the nomination.

Senator Jibrin Barau was proclaimed unopposed as Deputy Senate President by the Clerk of the Red Chamber after he asked whether there were any other nominations.

Senator Barau was then sworn in as the 10th National Assembly's Deputy Senate President.

Senator Godswill Akpabio was previously elected Senate President after defeating Senator Abdulaziz Yari.

The former Akwa Ibom governor was re-elected as President of the Tenth Senate with 63 votes, defeating Senator Yari with 46 votes.

Senator Akpabio was later sworn in as the 10th National Assembly's Senate President, succeeding Senator Ahmad Lawan, who is also a member of the 10th Senate.

Previous News Next News